Toru Takemitsu Composition Awards
Judges for the years 2022/2023/2024

Update: 2020.7.1

The Toru Takemitsu Composition Award is an annual orchestral composition competition for younger composers. Its uniqueness lies in that only one judge (as opposed to a committee) is responsible for all selections for that year.

We have the pleasure of announcing the appointments of Brian Ferneyhough (2022), Jo Kondo (2023) and Mark-Anthony Turnage (2024) as judges for the Toru Takemitsu Composition Awards for 2022-2024.

These three composers have been elected by a ballot among our advisors (Kent Nagano, Kazushi Ono, Sir Simon Rattle and Esa-Pekka Salonen) and three former judges (Philippe Manoury, Thomas Adès and Pascal Dusapin) from a list of candidates supervised by Shin-ichiro Ikebe, composer / our music director.


Brian Ferneyhough


Brian Ferneyhough (United Kingdom)

[Application Deadline]
30 September 2021 [Thu] 18:00

[Final Concert]
29 May 2022 [Sun] 15:00

Jo Kondo


Jo Kondo (Japan)

[Application Deadline]
30 September 2022 [Fri] 18:00

[Final Concert]
28 May 2023 [Sun] 15:00

Mark-Anthony Turnage


Mark-Anthony Turnage (United Kingdom)

[Application Deadline]
29 September 2023 [Fri] 18:00

[Final Concert]
26 May 2024 [Sun] 15:00

Welcoming these leading composers as our new judges, we look forward to greeting attractive new works of quality and originality.

[Contact us]
Tokyo Opera City Cultural Foundation
3-20-2 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo 163-1403 JAPAN
Tel. +81 3 5353 0770 Fax.+81 3 5353 0771

inquiry form

Year 2022

Brian Ferneyhough (United Kingdom)

Year 2023

Jo Kondo (Japan)

Year 2024

Mark-Anthony Turnage (United Kingdom)

Toru Takemitsu Composition Award MOVIE


Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall/ Recital Hall

Concert Calendar

Concert Calendar List

Seating Plans


Toru Takemitsu Composition Award