Toru Takemitsu Composition Awards
Judges for the years 2019/2020/2021

Update: 2017.5.19

The Toru Takemitsu Composition Award is an annual orchestral composition competition for younger composers. Its uniqueness lies in that only one judge (as opposed to a committee) is responsible for all selections for that year.

We have the pleasure of announcing the appointments of Philippe Manoury (2019), Thomas Adès (2020) and Pascal Dusapin (2021) as judges for the Toru Takemitsu Composition Awards for 2019-2021.

These three composers have been elected by a ballot among our advisors (Oliver Knussen, Kent Nagano, Kazushi Ono, Sir Simon Rattle and Esa-Pekka Salonen) and three former judges (Toshi Ichiyanagi, Heinz Holliger and Unsuk Chin) from a list of candidates supervised by Shin-ichiro Ikebe, composer / our music director.


Philippe Manoury


Philippe Manoury (France)

[Application Deadline]
28 September 2018 [Fri] 18:00

[Final Concert]
9 June 2019 [Sun] 15:00
(That schedule has been changed. 2017.10.25)

Thomas Adès


Thomas Adès (United Kingdom)

[Application Deadline]
30 September 2019 [Mon] 18:00

[Final Concert]
31 May 2020 [Sun] 15:00



Pascal Dusapin (France)

[Application Deadline]
30 September 2020 [Wed] 18:00

[Final Concert]
30 May 2021 [Sun] 15:00

Welcoming these leading composers as our new judges, we look forward to greeting attractive new works of quality and originality.

[Contact us]
Tokyo Opera City Cultural Foundation
3-20-2 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo 163-1403 JAPAN
Tel. +81 3 5353 0770 Fax.+81 3 5353 0771

inquiry form

Year 2019

Philippe Manoury (France)

Year 2020

Thomas Adès (United Kingdom)

Year 2021

Pascal Dusapin (France)

Toru Takemitsu Composition Award MOVIE


Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall/ Recital Hall

Concert Calendar

Concert Calendar List

Seating Plans


Toru Takemitsu Composition Award